It Never Gets Old

Minneapolis has further strengthened its ties to the National Collegiate Athletic Association® (NCAA) with the announcement this week of our selection as the site of the 2022 Women’s Final Four. The last time this premier women’s championship was held in Minneapolis was 1995. The UConn Huskies, coached by Geno Auriemma, won their first national championship that year. And while many may be looking for history to repeat itself in 2022, let’s not forget that Lindsay Whalen, an All-American and All-Star, turned coach, was not coaching the Gophers’ women’s basketball team then.