Ordway Center for the Performing Arts December 2014/January 2015 Calendar

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Ordway Center for the Performing Arts

DECEMBER 2014/JANUARY 2015 CALENDAR

A CHRISTMAS STORY: THE MUSICAL

Nov. 29-Dec. 28, 2014 (no performances on Mondays or Christmas Day)

Ordway Theater Season

Tickets: Start at $36

Ralphie Parker wants only one thing for Christmas: an Official Red Ryder® Carbine-Action 200-shot Range Model Air Rifle. A Christmas Story: The Musical is the hilarious account of Ralphie’s desperate quest to ensure that this most perfect of gifts ends up under his tree this Christmas. Filled with nostalgia, quirky childhood innocence and all your favorite scenes from the movie, this Ordway holiday production is a heartwarming event for the entire family.

 

Performance Dates and Times

7:30 p.m.

Saturday, Nov. 29 – Sunday, Nov. 30

Tuesday, Dec. 2 – Sunday, Dec. 7

Tuesday, Dec. 9 – Sunday, Dec. 14

Tuesday, Dec. 16 – Sunday, Dec. 21

Tuesday, Dec. 23

Friday, Dec. 26 – Sunday, Dec. 28

2:00 p.m.

Sunday, Nov. 30

Saturday, Dec. 6 – Sunday, Dec. 7

Saturday, Dec. 13 – Sunday, Dec. 14

Saturday, Dec. 20 – Sunday, Dec. 21

Tuesday, Dec. 23

Saturday, Dec. 27 – Sunday, Dec. 28

 

11:00 a.m.

Wednesday, Dec. 24

 

Accessible Performances

Thursday, Dec. 11, 7:30 p.m. (Open Captioned)

Saturday, Dec. 13, 2:00 p.m. (ASL/AD)

Piano music in the Marzitelli Foyer by Lori Dokken pre-show and during intermission for all performances

Wednesday, Dec. 10, post-show

Talk back with members of the company

 

DOBET GNAHORÉ

Sunday, Jan. 11, 2015 at 7:30 p.m.

TARGET® World Music and Dance Series

Tickets: Start at $20

Widely considered one of contemporary African music’s most charismatic talents, Dobet Gnahoré uses her thrilling stage presence, appealing melodies and powerful voice to captivate and astound audiences around the globe. Gnahoré’s diverse musical compositions move from delicate ballads to upbeat African grooves, exuding spirit and passion from the Côte d'Ivoire.

6:30 p.m. (pre-show)

Ordway Extra: Legends in Afro-Pop

Post-show party in the Marzitelli Foyer

 

QUICK REFERENCE

 

Tickets:

www.ordway.org

Ticket Office: 651-224-4222

Groups: 651-282-3111

 

Theater Venue & Location                   

Ordway Center for the Performing Arts
345 Washington Street
Saint Paul, Minnesota 55102

ABOUT THE ORDWAY CENTER FOR THE PERFORMING ARTS

The Ordway is widely recognized as one of the nation’s leading nonprofit performing arts centers and Saint Paul’s most elegant and inviting performance space. The Ordway’s Music Theater and soon-to-be completed Concert Hall attract diverse audiences with an array of productions showcasing the finest in American musical theater, world music, dance and vocal performance. Education and community engagement are integral to the Ordway’s mission, with major initiatives including the annual Flint Hills International Children’s Festival and Ordway Education programs that serve more than 50,000 students annually. The Ordway also sponsors the Saint Paul Conservatory for Performing Artists, a charter high school with a professionally guided academic and artistic environment that trains aspiring pre-professional performing artists. Together with the Minnesota Opera, The Saint Paul Chamber Orchestra and The Schubert Club, the Ordway is a member of the Arts Partnership and serves as the principal venue for their performances. For more information, visit www.ordway.org.