Mayor Rybak Marries 46 Same-Sex Couples on First Day of Freedom to Marry

Office of Mayor R.T. Rybak News Release

Contact: John Stiles, Communications Director, (612) 673-3665 office,

(612) 581-1788 mobile

Minneapolis City Goals: A Safe Place to Call Home ú Jobs & Economic Vitality ú Eco-Focused ú Livable Communities, Healthy Lives ú Many People, One Minneapolis ú A City That Works



Mayor Rybak Marries 46 Same-Sex Couples on First Day of Freedom to Marry

City Hall weddings and celebration began at midnight, ran throughout the night; couples waited a total 734 years to be legally married

August 1, 2013 (MINNEAPOLIS) — Beginning at midnight today, Minneapolis Mayor R.T. Rybak marked the first day that all Minnesotans can legally marry the person that they love by marrying 46 same-sex couples in a night-long celebration in the Rotunda of Minneapolis City Hall that ended at 6:45 a.m.

“We made history, but most importantly, what we did last night will soon become the norm,” Mayor Rybak said.

The 46 total couples that Mayor Rybak married in the City Hall Rotunda have been together a total of 734 years. Seven of the couples that Mayor Rybak married have been together more than 30 years.

The first two weddings of the evening — of Cathy ten Broeke and Margaret Miles, and of Al Giraud and Jeff Isaacson — were attended by approximately 1,000 people. Minnesota Governor Mark Dayton, who signed the freedom to marry into law on May 14, welcomed guests to City Hall at the start of the celebration.

Hennepin County Judges Peter Albrecht, Peter Cahill, Elizabeth Cutter, Margaret Daly, Daniel Mabley, David Piper and Edward Wahl — along with State Senator Scott Dibble, the lead Senate author of Minnesota’s freedom-to-marry law — officiated the weddings of an additional 21 same-sex couples in the Minneapolis City Council chambers.

A wide variety of goods, services and performances were generously donated to the celebration by local businesses, wedding providers and musicians.