Social
Stream
March

29

2017

Question the Wall Itself

Category: Arts & Theater

Next Upcoming Date: Wednesday, March 29 2017

Location: Walker Art Center
Time: 11:00 AM to 6:00 PM
1750 Hennepin Avenue
Minneapolis, Minnesota

Question the Wall Itself, an exhibition that examines how interior spaces are fundamental to understandings of cultural belonging and identity. On view through May 21, 2017 in the Target, Friedman, and Burnet Galleries, the exhibition features sculpture, installation, film, video, photography, performance, and site-responsive works from 23 international, multigenerational artists who explore the political, social, and cultural dimensions of interior architecture and décor. Events related to Question the Wall Itself include the Avant Museology symposium and Lounge Act at the Thek Lounge with Wayne Koestenbaum aligned to the exhibition opening, and a Marcel Broodthaers film program in February 2017. 

Artists in the exhibition include: Jonathas de Andrade, Uri Aran, Nina Beier, Marcel Broodthaers, Tom Burr, Alejandro Cesarco, Marc Camille Chaimowicz, Theaster Gates, Ull Hohn, Janette Laverrière/Nairy Baghramian, Louise Lawler, Nick Mauss, Park McArthur, Lucy McKenzie, Shahryar Nashat, Walid Raad, Seth Siegelaub, Paul Sietsema, Florine Stettheimer, Rosemarie Trockel, Cerith Wyn Evans, Danh Vo, and Akram Zaatari.

Visit Our Website Add To Itinerary

Upcoming Dates For This Event:
  • Wednesday, March 29
  • Thursday, March 30
  • Friday, March 31
  • Saturday, April 1
  • Sunday, April 2
  • Tuesday, April 4
  • Wednesday, April 5
  • Thursday, April 6
  • Friday, April 7
  • Saturday, April 8